Bookmark :

Winter widens SA Women’s Mid-Amateur lead

01 Nov 2016

Southern Cape’s Sandra Winter stretched her overnight lead to five strokes in the second round of the SA Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship at George Golf Club; credit WGSA.

Kingswood golfer Sandra Winter strengthened her bid to become the first hat-trick champion of the prestigious SA Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship in Tuesday’s second round at George Golf Club.

The 2011 and 2012 champion posted a three-over-par 75 to stretch her overnight lead to five strokes.

Winter offset a trio of bogeys on the front nine with birdies at three and five and notched two more at 11 and 14 to offset a double bogey at 10 and two more dropped shots at 13 and 15. She will start the final 18 holes at five-over-par 149 with fellow Southern Cape golfer Sonja Bland giving chase.

Bland, the winner in 2013, opened with an expensive 82, but an impressive 74 on day two rocketed the 50-year-old from Fancourt into sole second.

Lynn Behagg from Boland carded 78 to slip to third on 158 and two-time defending champion Vanessa Smith from Western Province finished a further stroke adrift after also posting 78.

Meanwhile Lenza de Jager from Gauteng North has guaranteed a B-Division victory.

The Pretoria Country Club player build up an insurmountable lead of 17 strokes over Wilmarie Greyling from Vredendal Golf Club with rounds of 80 and 75.

Tersia Swanepoel from North West leads Gauteng North’s Dot van Ryneveld in the C-Division.


A-Division (top 10)
149 Sandra Winter 74 75
156 Sonja Bland 82 74
158 Lynne Behagg 80 78
159 Vanessa Smith 81 78
160 Adele Beytell 85 75
161 Desiree Earle 81 80
164 Millie Zim-Dondashe 84 80
173 Lynn Slogrove 89 84
178 Lisa Kowen 90 88
179 Carina Theron 91 88

B-Division (top 10)
155 Lenza de Jager 80 75
172 Wilmarie Greyling 89 83
176 Sunette Venter 89 87; Esme Orr 82 94
177 Gloria Greyvenstein 91 86
179 Christe-Mari Meyer 90 89; Ronèl Badenhorst 88 91
180 Elmien van Niekerk 96 84; Conny Kottwitz 94 86; Louise van Niekerk 88 92

C-Division (top 10)
36 Tersia Swanepoel
33 Dot van Ryneveld
32 Maydie Otto
30 Tarryn Borsutzky
29 Lynette Jordaan
28 Helen de Bruin; Lady Ratsela
27 Linda Erasmus; Tracy Thesen; Roenel Basson; Yolandi Burger Kloppers; Dawn Wessels

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of Womens Golf South Africa.

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.

Look out for the new GolfRSA website coming soon.

Live Scoring & Leaderboard

Girls Love Golf

Girls love golf logo

Featured Links & Partners