Bookmark :

Gauteng takes early command in Middelburg

23 May 2016

Kajal Mistry (left), Chiara Contomathios and Eleonora Galletti (right) from Gauteng B at the 72-Hole Teams Championship at Middelburg Country Club; credit WGSA.

Gauteng made a fast start to their title defence in the 72-Hole Teams Championship, but surprisingly it was the B-team who pushed the 2015 champions in early pole position in the Swiss Team Trophy division at Middelburg Country Club on Monday.

Randpark’s Kajal Mistry offset a lone bogey at the par three sixth with birdies at three, 15 and 16 to open with a two under 70. Chiara Contomathios from Wanderers mixed three bogeys with a pair of birdies for a 73 that handed Gauteng B pole position at one-under-par 143.

Gauteng North A are three off the pace and in close pursuit, while Boland leapfrogged Gauteng A to join the chase in third spot.

Pretoria Country Club’s Danielle du Toit matched Mistry’s first round 70 and Larissa du Preez from Akasia added a 76 to put Gauteng North A firmly in the mix.

Boland’s Bianca Theron, who is home on a break from Mississippi State University, signed for a 73 and Bianca Lohbauer produced a 74.

The country’s top ranked pair, Kaleigh Telfer and Ivanna Samu, returned respective rounds of 74 and 75 to secure fourth for Gauteng A on 149.

Border also enjoyed a productive debut in the A-Division.

The 2015 Challenge Trophy winners combined for six-over-par 150 to finish within striking distance of the pacesetters, thanks to a 74 from Demi Flanagan and a 76 from Siviwe Duma.

Meanwhile Casandra Hall from Ekurhuleni set the course alight with a five-under-par 67.

The Ebotse Golf and Country Estate player turned one under after a bogey at 10 and a brace of birdies at 15 and 17. She reeled in a string of four birdies on the trot from the second to rocket to the first in the Individual Competition.

Hall’s low round of the day also delivered a positive result for Ekurhuleni A.

Team-mate Sarah Bouch carded a 72 to take Ekurhuleni A to the top of the Challenge Trophy leaderboard. The team will start the second round on five-under-par 139 with a six shot cushion over Gauteng C and a 10 shot lead on KwaZulu-Natal B.

Hall leads by two from Mistry, Du Toit and Gauteng C player Symone Henriques in individual standings.

Bouch is fifth, while Theron and Contomathios tied for sixth. Telfer, Lohbauer, Flanagan shares eighth on three over with KwaZulu-Natal’s Chloe Royston.

Round 1 Results (Best 2 scores of 3 to count)
143 Gauteng B Kajal Mistry 70 Chiara Contomathios 73
146 Gauteng North A Danielle Du Toit 70 Larissa Du Preez 76
147 Boland A Bianca Theron 73 Bianca Lohbauer 74
149 Gauteng A Kaleigh Telfer 74 Ivanna Samu 75
150 Border Demi Flanagan 74 Siviwe Duma 76
153 Gauteng North B Lenanda Van der Watt 76 Catherine Lau 77
153 Western Province A Michelle Swanepoel 76 Katia Shaff 77
155 Kwazulu Natal A Michaela Fletcher 76 Lizzie Currie 79
156 Gauteng North C Adele Beytell 78 Eugenie Clack 78
160 Western Province B Kaylah Williams 78 Aaliyah Abrahams 82
164 Southern Cape Sonja Bland 82 Desiree Geldenhuys 82
182 North West Kaitlin Joan Fensham 91 Desire Green 91

Round 1 Results (Best 2 scores of 3 to count)
139 Ekurhuleni A Casandra Hall 67 Sarah Bouch 72
145 Gauteng C Symone Henriques 70 Shawnelle De Lange 75
149 Kwazulu Natal B Chloe Royston 74 Elsune Roode 75
159 Ekurhuleni B Kiera Floyd 76 Candice Wort 83
159 Free State Chante Van Zyl 78 Zanele Mazibuko 81
161 Eastern Province Imkeleen Meyer 77 Minette Olivier 84
162 Gauteng North D Marinda Pretorius 81 Caro Els 81
163 Limpopo Ananda Lategan 81 Cherie Siebert 82
165 Western Province C Odette Booysen 81 Kayla Paulsen 84
167 Mpumalanga Chanelle Botha 83 Thandeka Hlatshwayo 84
168 Boland B Olivia Le Roux 78 Cassidy Williams 90
180 Northern Cape Lindy-Lee Kotze 90 Magdel Du Toit 90

67 Casandra Hall
70 Symone Henriques; Kajal Mistry; Danielle Du Toit
72 Sarah Bouch
73 Bianca Theron; Chiara Contomathios
74 Demi Flanagan; Chloe Royston; Bianca Lohbauer; Kaleigh Telfer
75 Shawnelle De Lange; Elsune Roode; Ivanna Samu; Caitlyn Macnab
76 Woo-Ju Son; Siviwe Duma; Michaela Fletcher; Larissa Du Preez; Lenanda Van der Watt; Kaiyuree Moodley; Kiera Floyd; Michelle Swanepoel

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the South African Golf Association.

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.

Look out for the new GolfRSA website coming soon.

Live Scoring & Leaderboard

Girls Love Golf

Girls love golf logo

Featured Links & Partners